A new independent bookstore in South Park, San Diego!

And then there’s Vargas Llosa

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2010 is awarded to the Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt, and defeat”. (from nobelprize.org)

Like I said yesterday, no one really knows who’s going to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.  We can all speculate till our e-readers run out of juice, but the committee is always going to throw a changeup that buckles your knees at the last second.  “Year of the Poet.” “Kenyans are favored!”  “Cormac!”  “Roth, finally.”  All a bunch-a-hooey and sleight of hand, I say.  Although, Vargas Llosa seems so glaringly obvious in hindsight.

God, I’m so stupid!  Why didn’t I pick him in the office pool!  25/1 odds! 

I mean, congratulations are in order for the esteemed Peruvian novelist.  Cheers!


One comment on “And then there’s Vargas Llosa

  1. scantool
    September 17, 2011

    congratulations for the Peruvian novelist Mario Vargas Llosa and I am sure this was so far of what most people predict. but I think he deserve it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on October 7, 2010 by in Mario Vargas Llosa, Nobel Prize.
%d bloggers like this: