Skip to main content

April Catapult Bestsellers

Tove Jansson
Previous price: $15.95 Current price: $12.76
In The Summer Book Tove Jansson distills the essence of the summer—its sunlight and storms—into twenty-two crystalline vignettes. This brief novel tells the story of Sophia, a six-year-old girl awakening to existence, and Sophia’s grandmother, nearing the end of hers, as they spend the summer on a t ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
A landmark history of one hundred years of war waged against the Palestinians from the foremost US historian of the Middle East, told through pivotal events and family history In 1899, Yusuf Diya al-Khalidi, mayor of Jerusalem, alarmed by the Zionist call to create a Jewish national home in Palestin ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Named one of the ten best books of the year by the Chicago TribuneA Publishers Weekly best book of 2019 | A 2019 NPR Staff PickA pathbreaking history of the United States’ overseas possessions and the true meaning of its empire We are familiar with maps that outline all fifty states. And we are also ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Patrick deWitt
Current price: $16.99
Definitely the funniest book I read in 2018. Somehow Dewitt writes in a completely different style every time & his books are always populated with the weirdest normal people you’ll ever encounter. (See also the hilarious The Sisters Brothers & Undermajordomo Minor.) French Exit’s Frances &a ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Sarah J. Maas
Current price: $19.00
The sexy, action-packed first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series from Sarah J. Maas. When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about onl ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Brass Monkey, Galison
Current price: $8.00
TINY DIARY - And by tiny…we mean really tiny. This 2.75” by 3.75” journal will help you remember those important life changing thoughts and/or grocery lists. This luxurious felt-covered hardbound book features 112 gilded-edge pages–each one lined, perfect for jotting down notes, to-do lists, or prof ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Ada Limón (Editor)
Current price: $25.00
NATIONAL BESTSELLER "Whoever you are, you will find yourself and your own world in the expansiveness of this collection." -Margaret Renkl, New York Times"A lovely book to take with you to read at the end of your next hike." -Los Angeles TimesPublished in association with the Library of Congress and ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Matthew Desmond
Current price: $20.00
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Evicted reimagines the debate on poverty, making a “provocative and compelling” (NPR) argument about why it persists in America: because the rest of us benefit from it. A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: The New Yorker, The New York Times Boo ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Parker Young
Current price: $15.00
Parker Young's short stories and flash fictions combine humor, anxiety, and pathos as they walk a razor's edge between the absurd and compelling human stakes. Cheap Therapist Says You're Insane is a debut collection of stories that announces a startling new talent in American storytelling. Parker Yo ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Colin Winnette
Current price: $16.95
A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice Marrying the philosophical absurdities of life, technology, start-up culture, and family, Users is for readers of Ling Ma, Dave Eggers’s The Circle, and viewers of the hit Apple TV+ original series Severance Miles, a lead creative at a midsize virtual rea ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Current price: $13.95
Akutagawa’s magical final work is a short novel with a magic spell all its own—poignant, fantastical, wry, melancholic, and witty The Kappa is a creature from Japanese folklore known for dragging unwary toddlers to their deaths in rivers: a scaly, child-sized creature, looking something like a frog, ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
The cult-y pocket-size field guide to the strange and intriguing secrets of the Mojave—its myths and legends, outcasts and oddballs, flora, fauna, and UFOs—becomes the definitive, oracular book of the desert For the past five years, Desert Oracle has existed as a quasi-mythical, quarterly periodical ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
The inspiration for the Netflix series 3 Body Problem! WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL Over 1 million copies sold in North America “A mind-bending epic.”—The New York Times • “War of the Worlds for the 21st century.”—The Wall Street Journal • “Fascinating.”—TIME • “Extraordinary.”—The New Yo ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Brass Monkey, Galison
Current price: $8.00
Adults like stickers, too. We just (unfortunately) don’t have trapper keepers to put them on anymore. That’s why Brass Monkey made this–a book of stickers designed to be used. This book of Judgy Fish is here to do what you can’t–mercilessly judge all of the people, places, and inanimate objects arou ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Michelle Zauner
Current price: $17.00
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the indie rock sensation known as Japanese Breakfast, an unforgettable memoir about family, food, grief, love, and growing up Korean American—“in losing her mother and cooking to bring her back to life, Zauner became herself” (NPR). • CELEBRATING OVER ONE YEAR ON ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Lizz Huerta
Current price: $11.99
A lush, immersive debut fantasy about a group of women whose way of life is threatened by a new king; a fierce celebration of community, sisterhood, and finding our power.Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare gift of Dreaming truth. ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Our canine superhero returns in DOG MAN: THE SCARLET SHEDDER, the suspenseful and hilarious twelfth graphic novel in the #1 worldwide bestselling series by award-winning author and illustrator Dav Pilkey! P.U.! Dog Man got sprayed by a skunk! After being dunked in tomato juice, the stink is gone bu ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
The Templar Company LTD
Current price: $24.99
This paper-cut book brings anatomy to life! Paper World: Human Body uses ingenious paper cut-outs to reveal the wonders of the human body, from taking a closer look at the inner workings of your brain to following the journey of a single bite of food through the intestinal track. With detailed art b ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Leif Enger
Current price: $28.00
BARNES & NOBLE'S APRIL BOOK CLUB PICK - A career defining tour-de-force from New York Times bestselling, award-winning and "formidably gifted" (Chicago Tribune) author of Peace Like a River Leif Enger. "A rare, remarkable book to be kept and reread--for its beauty of language, its gentle wisdom ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Gerardo Sámano Córdova
Current price: $17.00
A "wholly unique" and "uncompromising" literary horror debut about a boy who transforms into a monster, a monster who tries to be a man, and the people who love him in every form he takes (Eric LaRocca, author of Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke and Other Misfortunes) Grieving mother Ma ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Percival Everett
Current price: $28.00
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A brilliant, action-packed reimagining of Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, both harrowing and darkly humorous, told from the enslaved Jim's point of view • From the “literary icon” (Oprah Daily) and Pulitzer Prize Finalist whose novel Erasure is the basis for Cord Jefferso ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now