Skip to main content

Vanessa's Picks

Image

 

Vanessa Diaz is a Catapult Bookseller Emeritus and Catapult Employee #001, having left San Diego for the rainy, greener grasses of Portland, Oregon where she writes & edits for the prestigious independent editorial book website, Book Riot.

 

 

 

 

Madeline Miller
Current price: $18.99
This #1 New York Times bestseller is a "bold and subversive retelling of the goddess's story" that brilliantly reimagines the life of Circe, formidable sorceress of The Odyssey (Alexandra Alter, TheNew York Times). In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is bo ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Helen Oyeyemi
Current price: $18.00
"Exhilarating...A wildly imagined, head-spinning, deeply intelligent novel." - The New York Times Book Review "[W]ildly inventive…[Helen Oyeyemi's] prose is not without its playful bite." –Vogue The prize-winning, bestselling author of Boy Snow Bird, What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours, and Peaces return ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Roshani Chokshi
Current price: $11.99
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* First in a “wildly inventive and wildly representative” (The New York Times Book Review) historical fantasy series, Roshani Chokshi’s The Gilded Wolves follows the exploits of a found family—six societal outcasts tasked with stealing a powerful artifact that ca ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Kevin Wilson
Current price: $18.99
A New York Times Bestseller  •  A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick! Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, People, Entertainment Weekly, USA Today, TIME, The A.V. Club, Buzzfeed, and PopSugar “I can’t believe how good this book is.... It’s whol ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
1920s India: Perveen Mistry, Bombay's only female lawyer, is investigating a suspicious will on behalf of three Muslim widows living in full purdah when the case takes a turn toward the murderous. The author of the Agatha and Macavity Award–winning Rei Shimura novels brings us an atmospheric new his ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Rebecca Makkai
Current price: $19.00
PULITZER PRIZE FINALISTNATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALISTA NEW YORK TIMES TOP 10 BOOK OF 2018LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE WINNERALA CARNEGIE MEDAL WINNERTHE STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER Soon to Be a Major Television Event, optioned by Amy Poehler “A page turner . . . An absorbing and emotionally riveting ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Daisy Johnson
Current price: $16.00
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 MAN BOOKER PRIZE An eerie, watery reimagining of the Oedipus myth set on the canals of Oxford, from the author of Fen The dictionary doesn’t contain every word. Gretel, a lexicographer by trade, knows this better than most. She grew up on a houseboat with her mother, wanderi ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Victoria Schwab, V. E. Schwab
Current price: $8.99
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria (V.E.) Schwab (The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue) comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of Stranger Things. An instant bestseller! Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Diane Setterfield
Current price: $18.99
Instant #1 New York Times bestseller “Readers will feel the magnetic pull of this paean to words, books and the magical power of story.”—People “Eerie and fascinating.”—USA TODAY Sometimes, when you open the door to the past, what you confront is your destiny. Reclusive author Vida Winter, famous fo ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
“Agatha Christie’s indelibly etched characters have entertained millions across the years and a love of her work has brought together generations of readers—a singular achievement for any author and an inspiration to writers across the literary landscape.”—Jacqueline Winspear, New York Times bestsel ... Read More about