Skip to main content

Weird Books

Weird books we like for weird people we love.

Parker Young
Current price: $15.00
Parker Young's short stories and flash fictions combine humor, anxiety, and pathos as they walk a razor's edge between the absurd and compelling human stakes. Cheap Therapist Says You're Insane is a debut collection of stories that announces a startling new talent in American storytelling. Parker Yo ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Tamara Shopsin
Current price: $17.00
A WIRED Pick for the 7 Books You Need to Read This Winter and one of Vox’s 11 Titles Not to Miss From the incomparable New York Times and New Yorker illustrator Tamara Shopsin comes a debut novel about a New York City printer repair technician who grows up alongside the Apple computer—featuring orig ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Current price: $13.95
Akutagawa’s magical final work is a short novel with a magic spell all its own—poignant, fantastical, wry, melancholic, and witty The Kappa is a creature from Japanese folklore known for dragging unwary toddlers to their deaths in rivers: a scaly, child-sized creature, looking something like a frog, ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Hiromi Kawakami
Current price: $15.95
Nominated for the 2021 Shirley Jackson Award From the author of the internationally bestselling Strange Weather in Tokyo, a collection of interlinking stories that masterfully blend the mundane and the mythical—"fairy tales in the best Brothers Grimm tradition: naïf, magical, and frequently veering ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
A Good Morning America Book Club Pick! • A work-from-home comedy where WFH meets WTF. • "An absurd, hilarious romp through the haunted house of late-stage capitalism." —Carmen Maria Machado, author of In the Dream House Told entirely through clever and captivating Slack messages, this irresistible, ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
George Singleton
Current price: $17.95
Celebrated Southern author George Singleton delivers a new collection of short fiction, brilliant and absurd, for fans of George Saunders and Tom Franklin A restaurant owner runs into trouble when his wife starts a well-intentioned, poorly named rooster rescue. A boy navigates his parents' split be ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Leonora Carrington
Current price: $16.95
“Complete Stories, a collection of Carrington’s published and unpublished short stories—many newly translated from their original French and Spanish—is a terrific introduction to her bizarre, dreamlike worlds.” —Carmen Maria Machado, NPR Surrealist writer and painter Leonora Carrington (1917–2011) ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Henry Hoke
Current price: $25.00
Finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, the Barnes & Noble Discover Prize, and the James Tait Black Prize for Fiction. One of the Washington Post's 50 Notable Works of Fiction in 2023. One of The New York Times' 10 Best California Books of 2023. “Open Throat is what fiction should be.” —The New Yo ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days
Sheila Heti
Current price: $18.00
A new novel about art, love, death, and time from the author of Motherhood and How Should a Person Be?Here we are, just living in the first draft of creation, which was made by some great artist, who is now getting ready to tear it apart. In this first draft, a woman named Mira leaves home for schoo ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Hiroko Oyamada
Current price: $12.95
Winner of the Akutagawa Prize, The Hole is by turns reminiscent of Lewis Carroll, David Lynch, and My Neighbor Totoro, but is singularly unsettling Asa’s husband is transferring jobs, and his new office is located near his family’s home in the countryside. During an exceptionally hot summer, the you ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Claire Oshetsky
Current price: $16.99
LONGLISTED FOR THE 2022 PEN/FAULKNER AWARD FOR FICTION "Claire Oshetsky’s novel is a marvel: its language a joy, its imagination dizzying." —Rumaan Alam, New York Times bestselling author of Leave the World Behind An exhilarating, provocative novel of motherhood in extremis Tiny is pregnant. Her hus ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Carmen Maria Machado
Current price: $17.00
Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction “[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay “In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales, Machado gives literal shape to women’s memories and hunger and desire. I couldn’t put it down.”—K ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
KKUURRTT,
Current price: $16.00
The last American music festival. Psychedelics, nose drugs, and house music. Except this time something feels different. Not sure what? End of the world? Drug-induced conspiracy? Nah. An adventure in the mind of an adventurous mind. Tripping, rolling, and dissociating through the musical and/or phar ... Read More about
The Goggles
Current price: $27.00
Darryl’s friendless. Bored out of his skull. It’s the middle of summer, in the middle of the desert, in the middle of a fly-blown suburb of Roman-occupied Nazareth. Tough times for a sixteen-year-old boy in any era, never mind two millennia ago, when the only thing to look forward to is the next san ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now